Who I am and what I do.

Hello, I’ll introduce myself.

I am Matthew John Wesolowski.

I am a man with a face and a head and I make up stories and I write them down. Sometimes people like them and read them. Sometimes people like them enough to buy them. That’s nice, it makes me happy. Here’s a picture of me looking all grim and moody and author-y. (I don’t really like having my photo taken)

Image

Writing is everything to me. Writing never got banished to the attic along with the art pencils, the musical instruments and the sports equipment. Writing isn’t a journey, a job or even a hobby; writing is everything to me, writing is the only thing I do well.

I write because I have to, there’s no other explanation.  I have stories that come bubbling out of my brain, all bulging tentacles and teeth. I have to write them down.

I was born in Newcastle-Upon-Tyne in the North East of England. As I grew up, reading was my salvation from maths lessons, bullies, other children and jobs I hated.

The childhood soundscapes  of Michael Rosen and Roald Dahl, the fairy tales of Terry Jones and the silhouetted lands of Jan Pienkowski gave way to Tolkien’s Middle Earth during my childhood. Then came the school library and Usbourne’s ‘World of the Unknown’ – monsters, ghosts and UFOs

ImageImageImage

and that was me hooked.

They say you don’t find your genre, your genre finds you.

From the World of the Unknown, it was the ‘Point Horror’ series; notably ‘The Cheerleader‘ by Carlone B Cooney which was perhaps the first vampire fiction I ever read. The idea of this ancient Eastern European legend preying on the jocks and cheerleader culture of the early 90s was fascinating. From there, I couldn’t stop, I think I read every single point horror novel the school had.

This could go on for aeons, but I think you know what I’m getting at. What I will leave you with is the few books that gave me a passion for reading and writing horror.

First and perhaps the best is ‘Del-Del‘ by Victor Kelleher, a magnificent story of demon possession that still haunts me to this day. If you haven’t read it, I suggest you do. I am yet to find a book that has left such a lasting impression on me.

Image

Second and perhaps very different, ‘The Rats‘ by James Herbert which I read immediately after our school English teacher told us not to read books like that because there was naughty swearing and sex in them (you tell an 11 year old boy not to read something because it has sex and violence in it….what do you think is going to happen?) To this day, I wonder if that teacher was using subtle reverse psychology to expand our reading horizons…I’m guessing not!

My teenage years were filled with Poppy Z Brite (Now Billy Martin) beside the gritty brutality of Niall Griffiths and Patrick McCabe. I read ‘The Dead School‘ once every couple of years, just for the lasting delicious  trauma it leaves me with.

At the minute, I’m particularly enjoying the work of Gillian FlynnYrsa Sigurðardóttir and of course, the master himself, Stephen King.

This could go on and on….but, for your sake, it won’t.

I’ve written fiction ever since I could write. My first book in year 5 ‘Attack of the Killer Flytraps’ (a folded 3 page epic containing my own illustrations) is sadly lost to the ravages of time, but if I unearth it in an old box somewhere, I’ll scan it and put it up here.

I have had short stories published in ‘Ethereal tales’ magazine, now sadly defunct (not my fault… I hope, anyway!), the ‘Midnight Movie Creature Feature‘ and my debut Novella, ‘The Black Land‘ is available for a very reasonable price on Kindle. (Please leave a review, even if you hated every stinking word of it.)

 

Last little bit of admin:  I don’t really do Facebook. For me, Facebook is like looking through the window at the stragglers at the end of a really bad party…a party that you weren’t even invited to. However, you can ‘like’ me on there should you wish. I do update it with news when necessary.

 

Twitter will be coming soon. I just need to change my username and delete all my curmudgeonly bleating about inconsequential things that irritate me. Link coming soon.

 

So there you go. If you made it down to here, congratulations. I promise that the remainder of this blog will be considerably  less narcissistic, but, like hacking a particularly stubborn wart from your finger with nail scissors (it works, but I wouldn’t recommend it!) it has to be done.

Over and out.

MJ

 

 

About Matt Wesolowski

Matt Wesolowski is an author from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne in the UK. He is an English tutor and leads Cuckoo Young Writers creative writing workshops for young people in association with New Writing North. Wesolowski started his writing career in horror and his short horror fiction has been published in numerous magazines and US anthologies. Wesolowski's debut novella ‘The Black Land‘ a horror set on the Northumberland coast, was published in 2013 by Blood Bound Books and his latest horror novella set in the forests of Sweden is available in 'Dimension 6' magazine through Coeur De Lion Publishing. Wesolowski was a winner of the Pitch Perfect competition at 'Bloody Scotland'; Crime Writing Festival 2015, his subsequent debut crime novel 'Six Stories' will be available through Orenda Books in the spring of 2017 View all posts by Matt Wesolowski

Leave a Reply

