Black Dog ii: The House Where Nobody Lives.

Black House

Black dog takes me for a walk. Leaves scream down from trees. Rusty snow.

We walk while my legs leak blood, it sloshes in my socks. We walk whilst I sleep. My body remembers in the morning.

“I’m tired.” I say.

“You’re always tired.” Black dog says. “That’s why we never get owt done. That’s why you’re on your own.”

“I’ve got you.” I say.

Black dog’s eyes are deadlights. He stares through me.

“Can we stop for a bit?”

Black dog sighs, his nose points down. Shadows choke the streets and people push past; they light their wares in shop windows.

“That’ll be us one day.”

Black dog makes a noise. Sort of like a laugh.

“There.” He says. “That’s our place.”

It peers between buildings, black as a gap in a smile.

The house where nobody lives. Paint thick on broken glass. Each window was a dream.

“No one can see you up there.”

Black dog inclines his head. Crows shun a gambrel roof. The afternoon dies in its eaves.

I slip hook fingers into the space between the door and we go upstairs. It smells like a bedroom from long ago.

“Remember when we first met?” Black dog says.

We’re upstairs; a row of three black windows.

“You can see out but they can’t see in.” Black dog says.

I watch the rain fall on the streets below. I watch their windows wink. No one looks up.

“I said you’d like it here.” Black dog says.

A fire crackles in the grate.

I don’t remember who lit it.

We curl up beneath black windows. Black dog and I.

About Matt Wesolowski

Matt Wesolowski is an author from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne in the UK. He is an English tutor and leads Cuckoo Young Writers creative writing workshops for young people in association with New Writing North. Wesolowski started his writing career in horror and his short horror fiction has been published in numerous magazines and US anthologies. Wesolowski's debut novella ‘The Black Land‘ a horror set on the Northumberland coast, was published in 2013 by Blood Bound Books and his latest horror novella set in the forests of Sweden is available in 'Dimension 6' magazine through Coeur De Lion Publishing. Wesolowski was a winner of the Pitch Perfect competition at 'Bloody Scotland'; Crime Writing Festival 2015, his subsequent debut crime novel 'Six Stories' will be available through Orenda Books in the spring of 2017 View all posts by Matt Wesolowski

Leave a Reply

